Board Roster

Rita R. Colwell, PhD

Research Board Chair
Distinguished Professor
University of Maryland College Park and
Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
read more…

Margaret Leinen, PhD

Research Board Vice Chair
Director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego
read more..

Margaret Leinen
Debra S. Benoit, MEd

Director of Research and Sponsored Programs
Nicholls State University
read more…

Debi Benoit
Peter G. Brewer, PhD

Senior Scientist
Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
read more…

Richard E. Dodge, PhD

Dean, Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center
read more…

John W. Farrington, PhD

Dean Emeritus 
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution 
read more…

Kenneth M. Halanych, PhD

Alumni Professor & Coordinator, Marine Biology Program
Auburn University
read more…

David Halpern, PhD

Senior Research Scientist, California Institute of Technology/NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
read more…

Dr. Dave Halpern
William T. Hogarth, PhD

Director, Florida Institute of Oceanography at the University of South Florida
read more…

Dr. William Hogarth

Cecilie Mauritzen, PhD
Chief Scientist, Water & Climate
NIVA – Norwegian Institute for Water Research
read more…

 Cecilie Mauritzen, PhD
Raymond L. Orbach, PhD

Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin
read more…

Dr. Raymond Lee Orbach
Jürgen Rullkötter, PhD

Professor of Organic Geochemistry (retired)
read more…

Dr. Jürgen Rullkötter
David R. Shaw, PhD

Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Mississippi State University
read more…

Dr. David Shaw
Richard F. Shaw, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, School of the Coast & Environment
Professor, Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences
Louisiana State University
read more…

Richard F. Shaw, Ph.D.
John Shepherd, PhD

Professorial Research Fellow
School of Ocean & Earth Science, National Oceanography Centre
University of Southampton
read more…

Dr. John Shepherd
Bob Shipp, PhD

Professor Emeritus
University of South Alabama
read more…

Dr. Robert Shipp
Burton Singer, PhD

Adjunct Professor
Emerging Pathogens Institute
University of Florida
read more…

Dr. Burt Singer
Ciro V. Sumaya, MD, MPHTM

Professor, Health Policy and Management
Cox Endowed Chair in Medicine
Founding Dean, School of Rural Public Health
Texas A&M Health Science Center
read more…

Dr. Ciro V. Sumaya
Denis Wiesenburg, PhD

Provost and Vice President
The University of Southern Mississippi
read more…

Dana Yoerger, PhD

Senior Scientist
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
read more…

Dr. Dana Yoerger